click to submit search click for search tips

Article III Judges

Supreme Court justices, court of appeals judges, and district court judges are nominated by the President and confirmed by the United States Senate, as stated in the Constitution. The names of potential nominees often are recommended by senators or sometimes members of the House who are of the President's political party. The Senate Judiciary Committee typically conducts confirmation hearings for each nominee. Article III of the Constitution states that these judicial officers are appointed for a life term. The federal Judiciary, the Judicial Conference of the United States, and the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts play no role in the nomination and confirmation process.
The Article III Judges for the United States District Court Middle District of Alabama are as follows:

District Judges
Judges Attendance at Privately Funded Seminars
Seminar Disclosure

Contact information:

Honorable W. Keith Watkins

Chief Judge
United States District Court
E-300 Frank M. Johnson, Jr. Federal Courthouse Annex
One Church Street
Montgomery, AL 36104

Administrative Assistant:
Pat Newkirk - 334-954-3760

Courtroom Deputy Clerk:
Ann Roy - 334-954-3961

Honorable Myron H. Thompson

United States District Court
Post Office Box 235
Montgomery, AL 36101-0235

Career Clerk:
Marion Chartoff - 334-954-3650

Courtroom Deputy Clerk:
Anthony Green - 334-954-3952

Honorable William H. Albritton III

United States District Court
Post Office Box 629
Montgomery, AL 36101-0629

Administrative Assistant/ Courtroom Deputy Clerk:
Elna Behrman - 334-954-3710